Parramatta Park Trust

Date of birth
Date of death
Sep 1975
Place of birth
Parramatta/New South Wales/Australia
Place of death
Parramatta/New South Wales/Australia
Agency number
Parramatta Park was formerly the Government Domain established by Governor Macquarie in 1810. The Domain was declared a park in 1857 following the New South Wales Parliament passing the Parramatta Domain Act which dedicated 200 acres from the Domain as a park. In August 1857 a Trust was established to manage the Park for "promoting the health and recreation of the inhabitants of Parramatta." On 8 August 1858 the first trustees were appointed. These were James Byrnes, M.P.; William Goodwin; George Oakes M.P.; Nathaniel Payten, Snr; John Purchase. At its 116th Annual General Meeting the Trustees resigned due to the Trust being unable to continue its work due to financial dificiulties. The current Parramatta Park Trust is a statutory body established under the provisions of the Parramatta Park Trust Act 2001 to manage and control the Trust lands known as Parramatta Park.


Agency/Maker for: